The HANGAR | Gallery & Arts Initiative

Welcome to the official blog and media hub for The HANGAR | Gallery & Arts Initiative. Located in the Wynwood Arts District, The Hangar is dedicated to the collective movement of creative exhibition and seeks to open the lines of communication between artist, patron and community. www.hangargallery.com

Meet Mr.Herget

Inside The Mind of Mr.Herget

Herget is a very busy man, but we managed to have a nice chat and he was kind enough to pull up the curtains that hide his creative process to give us an intimate look at his past, his inspiration, and the way he looks at the world. Currently carrying out a month long live painting installation at our home, The Hangar, don’t miss this opportunity to witness what Mr.Herget holds in his mind come to life.

I hate the word realistic. What you see in your mind is what’s real.

                        -Mr.Herget

ElifintArtTraffic2

What thoughts go through your mind while working on a new piece?

When I start on a new project, I try to have the final product envisioned in my mind. Just because I can see what I want to accomplish, doesn’t mean I necessarily know how to get there though. But as long as I have a vision, there is a way to make that vision come to life. I don’t always know how I will get to that final product, but as long as I continue to work, I will make it happen.

Does the way you are feeling on a certain day affect the outcome of your work?

I like to think that I am a very happy, go-lucky person for the most part, I can’t remember the last time I was too upset. The right attitude carries me to the goals I have in mind. I wake up every morning and think about the possible and about the impossible. I take those thoughts about the impossible and translate them into my artwork. My goal is to make what others believe to be impossible, possible.

How does your art represent yourself?

Art is the way I choose to express myself. My art is more than just art…It’s hard for me to explain. You can do anything and everything you want! I believe you can create everything from nothing. My art is what I would love to see in the world. I feel like I am on a mission to show everyone you can do whatever you set your mind to. Do it, and do it and do it! No matter what is you want to do, just do it. If you want to flip burgers, then be the best damn burger flipper there ever was.

You just finished a huge mural at the back of The Hangar, mind sharing the story behind that spectacular project?

Oh! That back mural, believe it or not, has a very quick story behind it. During Art Basel, I walked into The Hangar and after a quick chat with Allyson she just basically offered me the space to paint my own mural. I took her up on that offer as quick as she gave it to me! It took me a while to realize exactly what I had just gotten myself into though… It took seven days and I had never painted something of that scale before, so I was nothing short of terrified. But I think it had a good turnout, if I do say so myself.

Where do you see yourself in about 5 years?

I want to be the greatest artist on this planet. Not to sound full of myself, of course. I want to inspire others to live life. I want to accomplish that at an age no one else has done before.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Don’t forget to check out his official web page for a look at the rest of his works.

Interview by Gabriel Gomez

3 comments on “Meet Mr.Herget

  1. Maxine Markoff
    March 10, 2013

    Why are the elephants trunks down in the paintings. Shoud they not be up for good luck?

  2. Essie
    May 15, 2017

    The title sounds great – just what you want to do: dig into paint -and with the help of a little bit of water – just paint.Thank you for this reatimendcomon.

  3. island life assurance
    May 20, 2017

    docjim505,"For example, I wouldn't be surprised to find that there will be a KI tablet shortage and people in Japan who MAY really need it will be unable to get it because people who DON'T need it (including panicked Americans thousands of miles away) bought it all up."In a happy coincidence, I seem to recall that kelp is an excellent natural source of Potassium Iodide…

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 18, 2013 by in Artist Interviews and tagged , , , , , , .
